The European Union (EU), while not without flaws, has served its citizens in their best interest. This is something the African Union has failed to do, because of multiple internal irregularities and corruption issues. Daniel Batidam, the Ghanaian who was elected Chairperson of the AU’s Advisory Board on Corruption in 2015, before becoming an ordinary board member two years later, resigned before the end of his mandate in 2019. “Enough is enough”, Batidam wrote in his resignation letter dated June 8, 2018. He stated that the organization had “multiple irregularities” and that “issues have come up over and over again” regarding corruption. Abuse of power, lack of transparency and accountability. The African Union quickly accepted his resignation, with Batidam saying that it was a sign that mismanagement towards corruption will “continue with business as usual.” Batidam wants African leaders to put pressure on the African Union to reform. In his words “It is my hope that they will call on people in high places at the Commission to take responsibility.” If they don’t, he urges African citizens to question the need for a continental body such as the African Union and its adjoining structures which are taking millions and millions of dollars to keep running. That money could address poverty on the African continent and yet we are using it to finance corruption.

The AU has a population of over 1 billion citizens and is a continental union made up of 55 member states, with a combined GDP (nominal) of over $2 trillion. Official bodies of the African Union includes; Economic, Social and Cultural Council, Pan-African Parliament (PAP), Executive Council, Assembly of the African Union, African Union Commission, Permanent Representatives’ Committee, Court of Justice of the African Union, Peace and Security Council, Specialized Technical Committee. In a summit held in Accra, Ghana on July 2007, the AU considered creating a Union Government which can be regarded as aiming towards a United States of Africa. This project has not been completed or may never be completed due to divisions among African states on the proposal. In an effort to achieve greater continental integration, The 1980 Lagos Plan of Action for the Development of Africa and the 1991 treaty to establish the African Economic Community proposed the creation of Regional Economic Communities (REC), with a timetable for regional integration and then continental integration to follow.

There are currently eight RECs recognized by the AU. Each was established under a separate regional treat; the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU), the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC), the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), the East African Community (EAC), the Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD), the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD).

The AU has a future goal to create policies like free trade area, a central bank, a single market, a customs union, and a common currency. This they hope will establish economic and monetary union. The current plan is to establish an African Economic Community with a single currency by 2023.

All UN member states based in Africa and on African waters are members of the AU, including the disputed Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR), even though Morocco claims sovereignty over SADR. Sudan was suspended on 6th June 2019 by the AU over government’s alleged mistreatment of protestors. List of member states below;





 Burkina Faso


 Cape Verde


 Central African Republic



 Democratic Republic of the Congo



 Equatorial Guinea









 Ivory Coast















 Republic of the Congo


 Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic

 São Tomé and Príncipe



 Sierra Leone


 South Africa

 South Sudan